Science Advisory Committees

Current Members

Thermo-chemical internal dynamics and volatile distribution
Garnero, Ed (Co-Chair) Arizona State University
Hirth, Greg  (Co-Chair) Brown University
Faulting and deformation processes
Vidale, John  (Co-Chair) University of Washington
Burgmann, Roland (Co-Chair) University of California, Berkeley
Beroza, Greg Stanford University
Brenquier, Florent Istitut des Sciences de la Terre, Grenoble, Fance
Keranen, Kathleen Cornell University
McGuire, Jeff  (Board Liaison) Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Change and interactions among Climate, Hydrology, Surface Processes and Tectonics
Gulick, Sean  (Co-Chair) University of Texas, Austin
Kirby, Eric (Co-Chair) Oregon State University
Anandadrishman, Shidar Penn State University
Whipple, Kelin Arizona State University
Magnani, Beatrice  (Board Liaison) Southern Methodist University

Committee Charge


The science committees exist to provide a central place to ensure alignment of the facilities with the scientific goals of the consortium. The three major scientific themes of the SAGE proposal each has a corresponding science committee:

  (1) Thermo-chemical internal dynamics and volatile distribution,

  (2) Faulting and deformation processes, and

  (3) Change and interactions among climate, hydrology, surface processes, and tectonics.

The charge to each of these three committees is identical although it is expected that individual committees will interpret and emphasize different aspects of the charge as appropriate for their particular agenda.

The committees’ charge is:

a)  To revisit regularly the scientific goals and strategies pertaining to their area as articulated by the SAGE proposal

b)  To identify the key facilities and services required to achieve their scientific goals

c)  To evaluate the efficacy of the facilities in meeting their scientific needs

d)  To identify new infrastructural needs that are required to meet their scientific challenges