Electromagnetic Advisory Committee

Current Members

Last NameFirst NameInstitutionRoleSinceUntil
Frassetto Andy IRIS Progr. Manager 2014 Present
Beaudoin Bruce PASSCAL-NMT Observer 2019 Present
Schutt Derek Colorado State University Member 2022 2024
Bedrosian Paul US Geological Survey, Denver Ex Officio 2014 Present
Ford Heather University of California Riverside Member 2022 2024
Naif Samer Georgia Institute of Technology Member 2020 2023
Share Pieter-Ewald Oregon State University Chair 2023 2023
Gustafson Chloe University of California, San Diego Member 2021 2023

Committee Historical Members Overview


Committee Charge

The Electromagnetic Advisory Committee (EMAC) will advise the IRIS MT Program Manager, the IRIS Portable Programs Manager, and the PASSCAL Standing Committee (PASC) on the operation and technical performance of the PASSCAL Magnetotelluric Program. Responsibilities include working with SAGE facility managers to oversee the growth of an integrated facility for making portable MT observations at the PASSCAL Instrument Center and ensuring that these resources are broadly accessible to geoscientists.

The EMAC is neither a science planning nor operations committee, but it should review MT activities in the context of the science framework of the SAGE-II award. The EMAC will cultivate and incorporate community input and participation regarding the operational and scientific aspects of the MT effort by convening special interest groups and through other mechanisms. The IRIS MT Program Manager and the PASSCAL Instrument Center Director will be the primary staff liaisons to the EMAC and will coordinate with the EMAC Chair to develop topics and questions for review and action by the committee. The EMAC will also report to the PASC and bring forward any programmatic concerns. The committee will meet virtually, at least twice per year, and will provide an annual written report to the PASC. Additionally, the EMAC may be consulted on special topics and questions requiring prompt action. Members of the committee are appointed by the Board of Directors and serve renewable three-­year terms. The EMAC chair will sit as an ex officio member of the PASC.

Technical Working Group Charters and Membership

Meeting Minutes and Action Items

2019 Feb
2018 Dec